wordpress blog stats
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

BJP’s Meenakshi Lekhi appointed chair of Joint Committee for Personal Data Protection Bill

You’re reading it here first.

Update, December 13: Meenakshi Lekhi from the BJP has been appointed chairperson of the Joint Committee that will examine the Personal Data Protection Bill, 2019. 

IT Minister RS Prasad will today move a motion in the Rajya Sabha to refer the Personal Data Protection Bill, 2019 to a proposed Joint Committee, which the Lok Sabha voted in favour of yesterday. The 10 Rajya Sabha members on the Joint Committee are:

  1. Bhupendra Yadav – BJP
  2. Suresh Prabhu – BJP
  3. Rajeev Chandrasekhar – BJP
  4. Ashwini Vaishnaw – BJP
  5. Jairam Ramesh – Congress
  6. Vivek K. Tankha – Congress
  7. Derek O’Brien – Trinamool Congress
  8. A. Navaneethakrishnan – AIADMK
  9. Ram Gopal Yadav – TRS
  10. Amar Patnaik – BJD

A supplementary List of Business for the Lok Sabha for December 11 shows the composition of the RS Prasad’s proposed Joint Parliamentary Committee to review the Personal Data Protection Bill, 2019. The proposed committee has 20 members from Lok Sabha:

1. Meenakshi Lekhi – Bhartiya Janata Party
2. P.P. Chaudhary – Bhartiya Janata Party
3. S. S. Ahluwalia – Bharatiya Janata Party
4. Tejasvi Surya – Bharatiya Janata Party
5. Ajay Bhatt – Bharatiya Janata Party
6. Col. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore – Bharatiya Janata Party
7. Sanjay Jaiswal – Bharatiya Janata Party
8. Kiritbhai Solanki – Bharatiya Janata Party
9. Arvind Dharmapuri – Bharatiya Janata Party
10. Dr. Heena Gavit – Bharatiya Janata Party
11. Uday Pratap Singh – Bharatiya Janata Party
12. Rajiv Ranjan Singh – Janata Dal (United)
13. Gaurav Gogoi – Congress
14. S. Jothi Mani – Congress
15. Prof. Saugata Roy – Trinamool Congress
16. Kanimozhi – DMK
17. P.V. Midhun Reddy – YSR Congress
18. Dr.Shrikant Eknath Shinde – Shiv Sena
19. Bhartruhari Mahtab – Biju Janata Dal
20. Ritesh Pandey – Bahujan Samaj Party

The Committee will also have 10 members from the Rajya Sabha, which will be recommended by the Rajya Sabha itself. According to the memo, the Committee shall make its first report to the Lok Sabha by last week of the Budget Session 2020. Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla will appoint one of Committee’s members as chairperson. It’s worth noting that the Congress’ Shashi Tharoor, who is the chairman of the Standing Committee on IT, is not on the committee.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

[embeddoc url=”https://www.medianama.com/wp-content/uploads/SLOB11.12.2019_.pdf” download=”all”]

Written By

I cover health, policy issues such as intermediary liability, data governance, internet shutdowns, and more. Hit me up for tips.

MediaNama’s mission is to help build a digital ecosystem which is open, fair, global and competitive.



Releasing the policy is akin to putting the proverbial 'cart before the horse'.


The industry's growth is being weighed down by taxation and legal uncertainty.


Due to the scale of regulatory and technical challenges, transparency reporting under the IT Rules has gotten off to a rocky start.


Here are possible reasons why Indians are not generating significant IAP revenues despite our download share crossing 30%.


This article addresses the legal and practical ambiguities in understanding the complex crypto ecosystem in India.

You May Also Like


Google has released a Google Travel Trends Report which states that branded budget hotel search queries grew 179% year over year (YOY) in India, in...


135 job openings in over 60 companies are listed at our free Digital and Mobile Job Board: If you’re looking for a job, or...


Rajesh Kumar* doesn’t have many enemies in life. But, Uber, for which he drives a cab everyday, is starting to look like one, he...


By Aroon Deep and Aditya Chunduru You’re reading it here first: Twitter has complied with government requests to censor 52 tweets that mostly criticised...

MediaNama is the premier source of information and analysis on Technology Policy in India. More about MediaNama, and contact information, here.

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ

Subscribe to our daily newsletter
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ