google

It was long overdue but Google’s like “its never too late”. Keeping that in mind, Google+ is de-linking its profiles from other popular Google services with YouTube being first in line. “While we got certain things right, we made a few choices that, in hindsight, we’ve needed to rethink. So over the next few months, we’re going to be making some important changes,” Google said on its official blog.

Separately, YouTube on its blog explained that users only needed a Google profile to make comments on the video platform. The comments users make on YouTube will now appear only on YouTube and not on Google+. Comments made on Google+ will only appear on the social media site and not on YouTube comments.

The company also explained that users only need a Google Account to share content, communicate with contacts, create a YouTube channel and more, all across Google. “Your underlying Google Account won’t be searchable or followable, unlike public Google+ profiles,” Bradley Horowitz, vice president for photos and streams said on the blog.  “And for people who already created Google+ profiles but don’t plan to use Google+ itself, we’ll offer better options for managing and removing those public profiles,” he added.

However, YouTube cautioned users saying that deleting a Google+ profile will mean that they will delete their YouTube channel. “If you want to remove your Google+ profile, you’ll be able to do this in the coming months, but do not do it now or you’ll delete your YouTube channel (no bueno),” YouTube said on its blog.

Winding down of Google+

– Earlier this month, Google said it is shutting down its legacy Google+ Photos app in favor of its newer photos app, Google Photos, starting the first of August. The company mentions that it will initially shut down its Android service, followed by web and iOS. Users using Google+ Photos will be prompted to download the new Google Photos app. All photos and videos backed up using Google+ Photos will be available via the new app.

– In September 2014, the company stopped forcing new users to create a social profile and allowed them to opt out of Google+ , as indicated by this Marketingland report.

– Google stopped forcing Google+ users to use their real names in July 2014. Google+ had debuted the real name policy to create a network that looked like Facebook. “But it also excluded a number of people who wanted to be part of it without using their real names,” the company explained in a post.

– In April 2014, The Verge reported that  Google was doing away with its Sign In with Google+ buttons in favor of a more straightforward Sign In With Google button.

– In the same month, long-time Google employee Vic Gundotra who started Google+, announced his exit from the company. It was reported that there was friction between Gundotra and Google CEO Larry Page which lead to his exit.