wordpress blog stats
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

RBI appoints Infosys’s Kris Gopalakrishnan to head innovation hub

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) has appointed Kris Gopalakrishnan, co-founder and former co-Chairman of Infosys Ltd, as the first chairman of the Reserve Bank Innovation Hub (RBIH), the central bank announced on Tuesday. The RBIH will collaborate with financial sector institutions, technology industry and academic institutions to excahnge ideas and develop prototypes related to financial innovations. “It would develop internal infrastructure to promote fintech research and facilitate engagement with innovators and start-ups,” the RBI said.

In August this year, the RBI had announced that it would set up an innovation hub to “promote innovation across the financial sector by leveraging on technology and create an environment which would facilitate and foster innovation,” it said.

While a chief executive officer for the RBIH is yet to be appointed, Gopalakrishnan has been appointed as the chairperson of the RBIH’s governing council. Other members appointed include:

  1. Professor Ashok Jhunjhunwala, Indian Institute of Technology, Madras
  2. Professor H. Krishnamurthy, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru
  3. Gopal Srinivasan, chairperson and managing director, TVS Capital Funds
  4. A.P. Hota, former CEO, National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI)
  5. Mrutyunjay Mahapatra, former CMD, Syndicate Bank
  6. T. Rabi Sankar, executive director, RBI (ex-officio)
  7. Deepak Kumar, chief general manager, Department of Information Technology, RBI (ex-officio)
  8. K. Nikhila, director, Institute for Development & Research in Banking Technology, Hyderabad (ex-officio)

Gopalakrishnan is currently the chief mentor of Start-up Village, a start-up incubator. He is also the chairperson of a Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology expert committee on non-personal data, which submitted its report on non-personal data governance in July this year.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Written By

Reports on banking, payments, fintech and crypto-curencies. Additional reporting on media regulations, data protection and other areas.

MediaNama’s mission is to help build a digital ecosystem which is open, fair, global and competitive.



The US and other countries' retreat from a laissez-faire approach to regulating markets presents India with a rare opportunity.


When news that Walmart would soon accept cryptocurrency turned out to be fake, it also became a teachable moment.


The DSCI's guidelines are patient-centric and act as a data privacy roadmap for healthcare service providers.


In this excerpt from the book, the authors focus on personal data and autocracies. One in particular – Russia.  Autocracies always prioritize information control...


By Jai Vipra, Senior Resident Fellow at Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy The use of new technology, including facial recognition technology (FRT) by police...

You May Also Like


135 job openings in over 60 companies are listed at our free Digital and Mobile Job Board: If you’re looking for a job, or...


Rajesh Kumar* doesn’t have many enemies in life. But, Uber, for which he drives a cab everyday, is starting to look like one, he...


By Aroon Deep and Aditya Chunduru You’re reading it here first: Twitter has complied with government requests to censor 52 tweets that mostly criticised...


Google has released a Google Travel Trends Report which states that branded budget hotel search queries grew 179% year over year (YOY) in India, in...

MediaNama is the premier source of information and analysis on Technology Policy in India. More about MediaNama, and contact information, here.

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ

Subscribe to our daily newsletter
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ