wordpress blog stats
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


ZEE5 CEO Tarun Katial takes over as IAMAI’s Digital Entertainment Committee chairman

ZEE5 CEO Tarun Katial has taken over as chairman of the Digital Entertainment Committee at the Internet and Mobile Association of India. The Digital Entertainment Committee has streaming services and other online players as members; these include Netflix, Zee5, Prime Video, Hotstar, Sony Liv, Viacom18, Reliance Jio’s RJio Studios, MX Player, Hungama, Discovery, Hoichoi, Arré, Gaana, and Saavn. Katial will be taking over from Ajit Mohan, a Hotstar veteran who is currently Facebook’s India head.

Before the pandemic, the DEC’s most pressing issue was introducing stronger self-regulation in Indian streaming services in a supposed effort to stave off government regulation. This would be accomplished with the Digital Content Complaints Committee, a body similar to the industry body for broadcast that receives viewer complaints.

Streaming services were torn about the idea in March, unable to agree on the body’s need. Interestingly, ZEE5 pulled its accord to a code of conduct for streaming platforms after the DCCC, also known as “tier 2” of content regulation, was introduced. Before the DCCC could go forward, the country locked down because of the COVID-19 pandemic, and priorities changed overnight.

“At IAMAI, our immediate task at hand would be to seek support from the Government, policymakers, local authorities to resume production activities at the earliest,” Katyal said in a statement, adding that the committee would also push for some “long pending issues” in the sector to be resolved.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Written By

I cover the digital content ecosystem and telecom for MediaNama.

MediaNama’s mission is to help build a digital ecosystem which is open, fair, global and competitive.



Due to the scale of regulatory and technical challenges, transparency reporting under the IT Rules has gotten off to a rocky start.


Here are possible reasons why Indians are not generating significant IAP revenues despite our download share crossing 30%.


This article addresses the legal and practical ambiguities in understanding the complex crypto ecosystem in India.


It is widely argued that the PDP Bill report seeks to discard the intermediary status of social media platforms but that may not be...


Looking at the definition of health data, it is difficult to verify whether health IDs are covered by the Bill.

You May Also Like


Google has released a Google Travel Trends Report which states that branded budget hotel search queries grew 179% year over year (YOY) in India, in...


135 job openings in over 60 companies are listed at our free Digital and Mobile Job Board: If you’re looking for a job, or...


Rajesh Kumar* doesn’t have many enemies in life. But, Uber, for which he drives a cab everyday, is starting to look like one, he...


By Aroon Deep and Aditya Chunduru You’re reading it here first: Twitter has complied with government requests to censor 52 tweets that mostly criticised...

MediaNama is the premier source of information and analysis on Technology Policy in India. More about MediaNama, and contact information, here.

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ

Subscribe to our daily newsletter
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ