wordpress blog stats
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Oops! Microsoft Teams down for 7 hours as company forgets to renew authentication certificate

Microsoft Teams
Source: Microsoft

In an embarrassing snafu, Microsoft Teams went down for nearly 7 hours on Monday. The cause? An expired authentication certificate.

What happened? When users attempted to sign in to the service, they received error messages that said the app had failed to establish an HTTPS connection to Microsoft’s servers, the Verge said. Digi Statement had first reported the issue.

It took the company 7 hours to fix the issue: Users on social media had begun reporting issues with the online collaboration platform at 9 am ET (7:30 pm IST) on February 3, and Microsoft acknowledged the issue at 9:19 am ET (7:49 pm IST). It took them about an hour to figure out the issue and another hour to deploy the updated certificate. At 4:27 pm ET (2:57 am IST), the company issued an update that the problem had been resolved. No other Microsoft service was affected.

Irony: Microsoft develops System Center Operations Manager to monitor things like certificate expiration, the Verge noted.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like

News

Microsoft on Monday announced the acquisition of cloud and AI firm Nuance Communications for $19.7 billion, the second most expensive acquisition by Microsoft after...

MediaNama is the premier source of information and analysis on Technology Policy in India. More about MediaNama, and contact information, here.

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ

Subscribe to our daily newsletter
Name:*
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ