wordpress blog stats
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

India Post Payments Bank looking to appoint new MD and CEO

India Post Payments Bank (IPPB), is currently inviting applications for the post of MD and CEO, according to an advertisement placed by the Banks Board Bureau (BBB) in the January 9 edition of Financial Express. This suggests that the current MD and CEO of IPPB, Suresh Kumar Sethi is potentially on his way out, although, we don’t know if he would depart from IPPB altogether, or assume a different role. We have reached out to IPPB for more details.

A clipping of the advertisement as it appeared in the Financial Express

According to the advertisement, the last date to apply for the position is January 31, 2020. Upon being appointed MD and CEO, the person would be responsible for, among other things, ensuring that all regulatory and statutory guidelines are adhered to at all times across functions at IPPB. The person will also be tasked with managing “cross-functional restraints,” according to BBB’s website. The term of office of the post shall be for 5 years subject to the age of superannuation at 60 years, and it may extended further by 5 years, contingent upon performance, the advertisement said.

Incumbent Sethi, who was appointed as MD and CEO of IPPB in October 2017, was previously managing director, at the now defunct, Vodafone M-pesa.

IPPB formally commenced operations in September 2018 in 650 branches and 3,250 access points across the country after a year-long pilot. As of November 2019, IPPB had set up a network of access points at 1.3 lakh post offices, out of which 1.13 lakh are in rural India, IT Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad had informed Parliament. In September, it rolled out Aadhaar Enabled Payment System (AePS) services allowing for withdrawal of cash from  Aadhaar-linked bank accounts.

In August 2019, we reported that IPPB was converted into a a small finance bank to enable small loans to individuals and SMEs. Before that, in July, it had become a scheduled bank after it was included in the Second Schedule to the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934, which allows it to borrow money from the Reserve Bank of India.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Written By

MediaNama’s mission is to help build a digital ecosystem which is open, fair, global and competitive.



The US and other countries' retreat from a laissez-faire approach to regulating markets presents India with a rare opportunity.


When news that Walmart would soon accept cryptocurrency turned out to be fake, it also became a teachable moment.


The DSCI's guidelines are patient-centric and act as a data privacy roadmap for healthcare service providers.


In this excerpt from the book, the authors focus on personal data and autocracies. One in particular – Russia.  Autocracies always prioritize information control...


By Jai Vipra, Senior Resident Fellow at Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy The use of new technology, including facial recognition technology (FRT) by police...

You May Also Like


135 job openings in over 60 companies are listed at our free Digital and Mobile Job Board: If you’re looking for a job, or...


Rajesh Kumar* doesn’t have many enemies in life. But, Uber, for which he drives a cab everyday, is starting to look like one, he...


By Aroon Deep and Aditya Chunduru You’re reading it here first: Twitter has complied with government requests to censor 52 tweets that mostly criticised...


Google has released a Google Travel Trends Report which states that branded budget hotel search queries grew 179% year over year (YOY) in India, in...

MediaNama is the premier source of information and analysis on Technology Policy in India. More about MediaNama, and contact information, here.

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ

Subscribe to our daily newsletter
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ