wordpress blog stats
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Guruprasad Mohapatra appointed new DPIIT secretary, Anshu Prakash new Telecom secretary

Current chairman of the Airports Authority of India Guruprasad Mohapatra has been appointed the Secretary, Department of Industry and Internal Trade, in the Ministry of Commerce. Mohapatra will replace Ramesh Abhishek, who is superannuating on July 31. The appointment comes as part of PM Modi’s first cabinet shuffle after the BJP government returned to power for a second term. 12 secretaries to government departments have been changed. Mohapatra had joined AAI in July 2016 and served as the joint secretary in the Department of Commerce before moving to AAI.

Additional secretary for Telecom Anshu Prakash has been appointed as the new secretary for Telecom, to replace Aruna Sundarajan, who is superannuating on July 31. Sundarajan has been Telecom Secretary since June 2017.

Subhash Chandra Garg, Secretary of Department of Economic Affairs, and designated Finance Secretary has been shifted to Ministry of Power as the Secretary. Garg will replace Ajay Kumar Bhalla, who is now Home Secretary. Atanu Chakraborty has been appointed Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs.

Also, Additional Secretary of DPIIT Atul Chaturvedi will leave the department and serve as Secretary of Department of Animal Husbandry & Dairying, under the Ministry of Fisheries.

Anuradha Mitra, Member (Finance), Digital Communications Commission, under the DoT has been shifted to the Ministry of Home Affairs as secretary of Department of Official Language.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

MediaNama’s mission is to help build a digital ecosystem which is open, fair, global and competitive.



By Rahul Rai and Shruti Aji Murali A little less than a year since their release, the Consumer Protection (E-commerce) Rules, 2020 is being amended....


By Anand Venkatanarayanan                         There has been enough commentary about the Indian IT...


By Rahul Rai and Shruti Aji Murali The Indian antitrust regulator, the Competition Commission of India (CCI) has a little more than a decade...


By Stella Joseph, Prakhil Mishra, and Surabhi Prabhudesai The recent difference of opinions between the Government and Twitter brings to fore the increasing scrutiny...


This article is being posted here courtesy of The Wire, where it was originally published on June 17.  By Saksham Singh The St Petersburg paradox,...

You May Also Like


While Vaishnaw has been a part of several parliamentary committees, Thakur was previously the Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance.  Former IAS officer-turned...

MediaNama is the premier source of information and analysis on Technology Policy in India. More about MediaNama, and contact information, here.

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ

Subscribe to our daily newsletter
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ