Former UIDAI chairman Nandan Nilekani will head a new RBI committee to push digital payments and enhance financial inclusion in India. While Nilekani is the chairman, the committee consists of 4 members:

  • H.R. Khan, former deputy governor, Reserve Bank of India
  • Kishore Sansi, former managing director and CEO, Vijaya Bank
  • Aruna Sharma, former secretary, Ministry of Information Technology and Steel
  • Sanjay Jain, Chief Innovation Officer, Center for Innovation, Incubation & Entrepreneurship (CIIE), IIM-Ahmedabad

What the committee will do

The mandate of the committee is to

– assess the existing status of digital payments,
– identify gaps and suggest ways to bridge them,
– assess the existing levels of digital payments in financial inclusion,
– suggest measures to enhance the security of digital payments,
– analyze best practices for digitization of economy through payments 
– provide a medium-term strategy for deepening digital payments, and
– to provide a roadmap for increasing customer confidence in digital payments. 

The committee will submit its report within 90 days from the its first meeting.

Read our digital payments coverage here.