Facebook-owned social networking site Instagram has said that it is changing its algorithm that dictates users’ feed. In a blog post, it said that the changes will “ensure the posts you see are timely”.
This means that users are more likely to see recent posts at the top of their feed. “With these changes, your feed will feel more fresh, and you won’t miss the moments you care about,” the company said.
Instagram is also testing a “New Posts” button, that takes users to the top of the feed when clicked. “Don’t tap, and you’ll stay where you are,” it explained. This will give users more control over their feed, according to the social media giant. As of now, the users’ feed gets refreshed automatically if they move out the app or the page.
These changes are based on users’ feedback, as the application received backlash when it tweaked its algorithm in 2016. That algorithm was more like its parent Facebook’s, based on users likes and engagements, and not necessarily chronological. It was argued, “On average, people miss about 70 percent of the posts in their Instagram feed. The proposed change is about making sure the 30% people do see is the best 30 percent possible.”
This led so many Instagrammers expressing their disapproval and made businesses nervous that followers may not see as many of their posts. There was even a petition on Change.org against the proposed changes and to keep Instagram chronological.
Look’s like Instagram has finally heard. Over the next few months, the app will be making more changes to its feed, it said.
Other changes on Instagram
The visually driven social networking site, which was bought by Facebook in 2012 for $ 1 billion, has been updating and changing its application. Just a day before this announcement, Instagram added the option to link hashtags (#) and handles (@) in bios. In December 2017, it also introduced the option to follow hashtags, a feature that was earlier only limited to handles. In the same month, it also allowed users to permanently archive their stories, which would earlier necessarily be deleted in 24 hours.