Google India logo

Google Translate has added support for Malayalam as a part of its update along with nine other languages including Sinhala, Sudanese, Myanmar, Kazakh, Tajik, Uzbek, Chichewa, Sesotho and Malagasy. The new languages are currently available for translation on Google Translate, and is expected to rolled out shortly for Chrome and on its mobile apps.

With this, Google Translate now supports ten Indian languages including Marathi, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Tamil, Telugu, Punjabi and Urdu. Overall the platform now supports translations in 90 languages from around the world.

We translated sentences from English to Malayalam and vice versa, and the translations seem to work reasonably well, that is, when translated from English to Malayalam, and back from Malayalam to English, the results were the same at least in meaning. For example ‘what is going on’ translated back to ‘what’s happening’.

In June this year, Google Translate had released an updated version of its Android app to bring in voice input support for eight Indian languages including Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Marathi, Punjabi, Tamil and Telugu. Google had also introduced handwriting input mode for five Indian languages – Gujarati, Kannada, Punjabi, Tamil and Telugu on the web and its Android app in March. This was a month after adding handwriting support for Gujarati, Marathi, Punjabi and Telugu on its Google Translate iOS app. The company also added Kannada and Tamil handwriting support to its iOS app a month later.

Earlier in December last year, Translate had added support for Punjabi translations, after having added support for Marathi translations on the web and Android platforms in May, and for iOS in September the same year.

The company had also introduced Hindi handwriting support for Google Translate & Google Search in August 2013 and Gmail & Google Drive in October 2013. It had released offline language packages to Google Translate’s Android app with support for fifty languages including Hindi in March 2013.