SwiftKey Logo

Popular keyboard app SwiftKey is releasing an updated version of its Android app, adding support for 11 new Indian languages along with Nepali and Sinhala in open beta.

The Indian languages now supported are Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu. SwiftKey had earlier added support for Hindi and Hinglish to its language options, back in December 2012. Swiftkey recently released an iOS app as well, however we are not sure as to when the company plans to add support for Indian languages to the app.

The new version is still not live in the Google Play Store at the time of writing this post. We’ll update this post with our take on the app after giving it a try. SwiftKey, which was until recently a paid app, opted for a freemium approach in June this year. However, ever since the update, It doesn’t seems to work with Xiaomi Mi 2 or Mi 3 phone. Interestingly, Swiftkey is preloaded as a default keyboard on Xiaomi Mi 3.

SwiftKey Indic Language Support

Besides the new languages, the company mentions that it has changed the SSL certificate handling to increase robustness of the secure connections used for SwiftKey Cloud’s Backup & Sync services. The company also claimed that they have made the app installer quicker by replacing the popup EULA with links at the bottom of the page.

Competition: With this update, SwiftKey seems to be now on par with its competitors in terms of support for Indic languages. KeyPoint Technologies’ text input keyboard app Adaptxt which supports 13 Indic languages while Nuance Communications-owned Swype that added support for Gujarati, Malayalam, Marathi, and Telugu to its Android app last year and supports eight Indian languages including Hindi and Hinglish.

However, it’s worth noting that the Indic Keyboard released by the software collective Swathanthra Malayalam Computing earlier this year, offers support for more than 15 Indic languages on Android.