wordpress blog stats
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Update: Story On Rediff Launching Pakistan Site Incorrect; Our Apologies

Word just in from Rediff: apparently it was an elaborate hoax – a rather well executed one at that, and we should have suspected it when we noted the login powered by JA Highslide (Joomla Art). 

Just to be sure, we before putting up this story, we had also done a who-is lookup on the domain from http://www.pknic.net.pk/, and gleaned the following details:

Domain Name: rediff.com.pk
Registrant: Rediff, Daniyal Waseem, Address 34 Oxford Street, London  
Create Date: 2008-05-27
Expire Date: 2010-05-27
Agent Organization: Nexus Technologies
Technical Contact: Nexus Technologies, Arsalan Mahmud, Islamabad 

It appears that someone has gone to elaborate lengths to spoof the Rediff site. Our apologies to Rediff and to our readers for the inaccurate story carried. 

Original story:

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

So it looks like it’s time to look overseas and address a different geography: NASDAQ listed Rediff.com has launched a website targeting citizens of Pakistan; the site is appropriately named Rediff Pakistan. The site has an interface quite different from that of Rediff.com, and it perhaps conforms to the Rediff redesign that CEO Ajit Balakrishnan mentioned a few days ago. Rediff has also opened an office in Lahore, Pakistan.

Some of the content is Pakistan specific, while other segments appear to be pages from Rediff.com, with a wrapper: Take a look at Astology, Matchmaker, Q&A and Photos. 

Other segments like Showbiz and Music are specific to Pakistan, though the music segment is still being populated. Interestingly, the site has a separate login…apparently powered by JA Highslide (Joomla Art).

Interestingly, while Rediff doesn’t have an Urdu site, they are using Google translate to enable different languages, including Arabic.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Written By

Founder @ MediaNama. TED Fellow. Asia21 Fellow @ Asia Society. Co-founder SaveTheInternet.in and Internet Freedom Foundation. Advisory board @ CyberBRICS

MediaNama’s mission is to help build a digital ecosystem which is open, fair, global and competitive.



While the market reality of popular crypto-assets like Bitcoin may undergo little change, the same can't be said for stablecoins.


Bringing transactions related to crypto-assets within the tax net could make matters less fuzzy.


Loopholes in FEMA and the decentralised nature of crypto-assets point to a need for effective regulations.


The need of the hour is for lawmakers to understand the systems that are amplifying harmful content.


For drone delivery to become a reality, a permissive regulatory regime is a prerequisite.

You May Also Like


Google has released a Google Travel Trends Report which states that branded budget hotel search queries grew 179% year over year (YOY) in India, in...


135 job openings in over 60 companies are listed at our free Digital and Mobile Job Board: If you’re looking for a job, or...


Rajesh Kumar* doesn’t have many enemies in life. But, Uber, for which he drives a cab everyday, is starting to look like one, he...


By Aroon Deep and Aditya Chunduru You’re reading it here first: Twitter has complied with government requests to censor 52 tweets that mostly criticised...

MediaNama is the premier source of information and analysis on Technology Policy in India. More about MediaNama, and contact information, here.

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ

Subscribe to our daily newsletter
Your email address:*
Please enter all required fields Click to hide
Correct invalid entries Click to hide

© 2008-2021 Mixed Bag Media Pvt. Ltd. Developed By PixelVJ