Election data site, IndiaVotes has mapped information on Parliamentary Constituency and Assembly Constituency across India on a map which can be accessed at IndiaVotes Maps.

The map provides election data from 1996 to 2009 for every Parliamentary Constituency and Assembly Constituency data for the election year 2004 and 2009. The company eventually plans to integrate all election results on IndiaVotes on the map. One can hover their desktop pointer over districts and states to get information such as PC/AC name, winner, winning party, winning votes, runner up, runner up party, runner up votes, total votes, margin, margin percentage, and turn out percentage. One can also click on the constituency for more information on the party, which leads to IndiaVotes election data site.

Besides this, one can also filter the map information based on party loss margin, party win margin, and close contests between two parties. The election data integration on a map will be able to provide an overview on how a party performed in a district or state over a period of time. The map color codes areas based on parties that won the elections. This might help data researchers to bring out trends.

IndiaVotes PC  Map of All States 2009

We feel that IndiaVotes could have integrated more information on candidates profile linking to their database. However, when we checked, it appears that IndiaVotes does not collect information on candidate profiles.

Launched in November 2012 by online media company Niti Digital, IndiaVotes provides data on Lok Sabha (parliamentary) elections since 1952 and all state elections since 1977.

Election related initiatives: Microblogging social networking site Twitter had set up an event page for the Gujarat Assembly elections 2012 that updates tweets related to the election in real time. Anyone, whether registered on the website or not, can access the page at twitter.com/hashtag/GujaratElections. Recently, we also reviewed Your MP, an Android app that allows users to not only track Lok Sabha parliament members (MPs) with their bio but also track the latest debates and questions in the parliament house.

Rediff.com had launched the Rediff Sentimeter, an interactive map-based tool that predicts who could win the Gujarat assembly election 2012. The first phase of the Gujarat assembly elections will be held in on December 13, 2012 and second phase on December 17, 2012, while the counting will take place on December 20, 2012. The sentimeter can be accessed at rediff.ly/sentimeter. There’s also MyNeta.info*, which provides information on various candidates.

*Disclosure: Nikhil Pahwa, the editor of this site, is related to Jagdeep Chokkar, one of the founders of the Association for Democratic Reforms, which runs MyNeta.info.